Travel Ban 3.0 Expansion Places Restrictions on Six Additional Countries

On January 31, 2020, President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation expanding “Travel Ban 3.0” to include certain foreign nationals of the following six countries: Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. According to the Department of Homeland Security, these foreign states failed to meet security assessment criteria. They were deemed to have inadequate identity-management protocols, information-sharing practices, and pose risk factors to US security.